Kit Goff – An Album Review by Robert Honour

Kit Goff – Recorded at T3 Studios 2020

The first time I saw Kit Goff perform was in the wonderfully unique and quirky Atic Pub in Bicester. He sheepishly walked on stage and his nervousness was palpable. I’ve been to many Open Mics over the years and the performances vary enormously in quality. After all, that’s the beauty of Open Mics, isn’t it? Some performers are gracing the stage for the first time and just want to ‘give it a go’. Whereas some are hardened musicians and experienced artists who have been performing for years and know how to ‘wow’ a room. They have confidence in their abilities and often leave the audience whispering in debate about how they aren’t filling far larger venues.

When I saw Kit nervously plug in his guitar and refuse to make eye-contact with the waiting crowd, I assumed he was the former. Someone who was just up there for the craic and hadn’t truly predicted how nerve-wracking it is to have a room full of expectant eyes and ears pointed directly at you. To the smallest extent, I was correct. Though he’d be singing and songwriting for years, performing was a realm he was yet to venture into, hence the detectable nerves. His voice during the first song was tensely quiet, but it was already clear to the audience that they were witnessing someone who needed to be heard. By the end of the second number, Kit’s confidence had ballooned and his soulful tones had his listeners spellbound. I remember feeling the relief emanating from the man and also the collective joy that came from seeing such a talented performer finally showcase his work.

A couple of years have passed since then and now Kit is a regular feature on the local music scene (Covid depending…). I’ve even been lucky enough to share the stage with him once or twice. Also, with the help of the ever-supportive and helpful Will Vetcher over at T3 Studios, Mr. Goff now has proof of his talents in the physical format of a Compact Disc. Needless to say, I was first in the queue when I knew this product was available and I was not disappointed with what I heard. In fact, I was blown away.

I’ve seen Kit perform many times, but one thing I hadn’t really realised before was how identifiable and unique his style is. When writing album reviews, it’s almost obligatory to make comparisons with artists and acts you feel are similar to, or may have directly inspired, the musician in question. I can safely say that this album is different to any other in my collection. There are clear similarities between the songs, both in tone and style, but each stand out in their own way.

The album begins with ‘Fast’; ironically, a creeping, seductive number. The introspective lyrics speak of a loss of identity and place, and it introduces us to Kit’s uncanny ability to progress through chords and weave different, developing, and almost hypnotic melodies around them. Its message is clear and it’s a slow-burning but highly-effective beginning to the album. It also introduces us to Kit’s trademark soul, a word that has become synonymous with the man. This is of course magnified to another level in perhaps the stand out tune of the record, which follows on flawlessly; ‘Blue Shoes On’.

Tear-jerking and uplifting in equal measure, it has become an anthem in the ‘Open Micsolate’ Facebook group (which if you haven’t already checked out, do so immediately). The simple, yet beautiful, picked guitar provides the ideal backdrop for Kit’s stunning vocal performance. The first thing everyone inevitably always comments on is Kit’s vocal talent, however, his lyrics should not be overlooked. He has a knack of creating vivid imagery that draws the listener in for multiple listens. I find myself noticing new aspects with each and every listen that had previously lay undiscovered. The whole album should be heard, but ‘Blue Shoes On’ needs to be known by all.

The incredibly titled ‘Let’s Not Be Naked’ has the almost impossible task of following BSO, but it more than lives up to expectations. The chord progression provides an almost haunting quality to the track. Kit sounds like a man full of regret and angst, but the lyrics reveal his vulnerability too. There’s a strong feeling of ‘what could have been’ woven in his carefully chosen words. As a Radiohead fan who thrives on self-deprecation and anxiety in music, I might have to select this one as my personal favourite. It has an edge to it that draws me in and makes me feel a huge amount of empathy towards Mr Goff. We’re either two lost and ponderous souls, or two miserable, aging buggers.

‘Freedom’ kicks off the second-half of the album with a revolutionary message. This tune sounds like it comes straight from 1960/70’s America. An observance of wrong-doings and a signalling of hope that is as relevant today as it has ever been. Kit’s music and lyrics usually focus on personal ponderings or matters of the heart, but ‘Freedom’ conjures images of collectivism and ‘sticking it to the man’. It’s perhaps the most ‘singalong’ track on the album too. If I was 10 years younger, I might be confident enough to call it a ‘banger’. For me, it’s just ‘bloody brilliant’.

The tone is mellowed once more for the introduction of ‘Fire’. Lighters should be held aloft during each and every performance of this song. Lyrics based around growing older, love and loss are delicately delivered by Kit, but the chorus is instantly memorable and sung with passion that complements its rise in intensity. Though I said that Kit’s music is incomparable; ‘Fire’ definitely has a ‘High and Dry’ feel about it, and for me to compare anyone to my beloved Radiohead is high praise indeed…

The word ‘soul’ has been used a couple of times throughout this review, but no other word could be more perfect to describe the album closer; ‘Money’. Kit even flaunts a bit of sass and swagger with this one. The punchy, staccato guitar really adds to the swing and the universally identifiable “Money goes to soon” should be sang at every pub, club and venue up and down the country as soon as we’re allowed to go and watch this great man play again.

I personally can’t wait to part with a bit of my cash watching Kit do his thing.

For anyone interested in getting this album, please contact Kit Goff or myself on Facebook and we’ll be more than happy to help you out. I promise you will not regret your purchase.

#musicistheglue

One response to “Kit Goff – An Album Review by Robert Honour”

  1. Hi,

    Just wanted to let you know that I published my first short-story collection, The Forest Bed. The eBook is free on Kindle until 26 June 11.59 PDT. Could you please go through it and provide an honest review? Please please pleeeease…. Here are the details: https://fishinthetrees.home.blog/2021/06/23/the-forest-bed-free-ebook-2/

    Also, please help me spread the news before the offer gets over.

    Like

Leave a comment